This morning on IrelandAM we previewed some children’s books to look out for in the first quarter of the new year. If you’re curious about such things, you can watch the clip online here. All books mentioned on the show (and there were quite a few) are listed below.

JANUARY

Extra Yarn 300

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett & Jon Klassen
An extraordinary yarn about a little girl who finds a box of brightly coloured yarn and knits up a storm.

Shiverton Hall 300

Shiverton Hall by Emerald Fennell
Arthur Bannister receives a letter of acceptance to Shiverton Hall- a creepy boarding school with a dark past. Emerald Fennell’s debut novel will appeal to those who love a good scare.

Captain Underpants 300

Captain Underpants and the Revolting Revenge of the Radioactive Robo-Boxers by Dav Pilkey
Tra-la-la! Captain Underpants fans will be delighted to know the tenth book in the series is out on January 16th

Curse of Kings 300

Curse of Kings: The Trials of Orland Born by Alex Barclay
This is the first book in an epic new fantasy series by Irish crime writer Alex Barclay. Orland Born lives in world tyrannised by dark magic. Could he be the hero the kingdom is waiting for? My guess is yes, but we’ll find out on January 31.

Maggot Moon

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner
The paperback edition of the COSTA Children’s Fiction Award winner is out this month. Standish Treadwell is the unforgettable narrator of this powerful and original tale of rebellion, set in an alternate 1950’s.

FEBRUARY

Lion vs Rabbit 300
Lion vs Rabbit by Alex Latimer
A picture book about a bully and a bunny. The dry humour will appeal to adults as well as children, as will the story’s moral: you can always get the better of a bully.

Queenie 300

Queenie by Jacqueline Wilson
Out on February 7, the new novel from the doyenne of issue-driven children’s fiction is set in the children’s ward of a 1950’s hospital.

Timmy Failure 300

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis
Meet Timmy Failure. Together with his sidekick polar bear Total, he founded the “best” detective agency in town: TOTAL FAILURE INC. Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Big Nate and Mr Gum.

Back To Blackbrick 300

Back to Blackbrick by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Lost memories and lost times are the focus of this remarkable debut novel from Irish author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. 12-year-old Cosmo is losing his grandfather to Alzheimers disease. In a rare moment of lucidity, he gives Cosmo the keys to Blackbrick Abbey- a ruined ediface from a time long gone. When Cosmo goes through the gates and finds himself face to face with his grandfather as a young man, he begins to question whether he can alter the course of his family’s future from the vantage point of his grandfather’s former days.

MARCH

World Book Day falls on March 7. This year’s selection of specially-produced books come from authors such as Francesca Simon, Cathy Cassidy, Lauren Child & Anthony Horowitz.

Cheese Belongs To You 300
Cheese Belongs To You by Alexis Deacon & Viviane Schwarz
From the creative duo behind A Place To Call Home comes a picture book about the struggle for dominance over one piece of cheese.

Bye-Bye Baby Brother 300
Bye-Bye Baby Brother! by Sheena Dempsey

Irish illustrator Sheena Dempsey’s debut picture book is about new babies, busy mums and a little girl with a big imagination.

Brave Beast 300

The Brave Beast by Chris Judge
The Beast is back and he must face his fears in this vibrant new picture book from award-winning Irish illustrator Chris Judge.

Hagwitch300

Hagwitch by Marie Louise Fitzpatrick

Stories from 16th century London and modern day Ireland interweave in this gothic thriller by Irish author & illustrator Marie Louise Fitzpatrick.

Tanith Low In The Maleficent Seven 300

Tanith Low in the Maleficent Seven by Derek Landy

The bad guys take the stage in this one-off novella, or book seven-and-a-half in the Skulduggery Pleasant series.

Goblins Vs Dwarves 300

Goblins vs Dwarves by Philip Reeve

Philip Reeve, author of the superb Mortal Engines series, has turned his hand to fantasy adventures for younger readers. In this sequel to ‘Goblins’, tunnelling dwarves and armoured moles steal the Goblin’s magic. Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, both boys and girls.

Clockwork Princess 300

The Infernal Devices: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

The final instalment in the bestselling urban fantasy trilogy, set in Victorian London. Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series has sold 4 million copies worldwide, and the film adaptation of the first book, City of Bones, hits the big screen in August. You can watch the trailer here.

Comments are closed.

  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • Email